Joe Cocker vs Gregory Peck

I came up with a plan for the roosters. I finished the bigger chicken tractor!

Well, it’s almost finished. It’s about 12 feet long and a little less than 4 feet tall. It’s still heavy, but much easier to move than the smaller tractor. It was especially easy to move on the ice. It slid rather easily.

I took two sides of the goat tractor and leaned them together to make an A-frame. The panels are made of 2x8s and 2″x4″ heavy gauge metal fencing. It’s pretty sturdy. The ends are covered with the same fencing and reinforced with wooden pallets for strength.

There is a temporary shelter in it made from some recycled plastic storage container. I also put a pet carrier in it. The pet carrier is situated toward the top of the A-frame. In theory, the carrier can be used to hide from any predator that makes it into the tractor.

The roosters were named today. We’ve had them for 6 months or so. I resisted naming them because I really thought something would kill them all. But it looks like they are going to make it, so they got names. The less aggressive rooster is now Joe Cocker and the more aggressive one is Gregory Peck. Donna Henley is our one chicken hen. The two ducks still don’t have proper names.

I hope Joe Cocker likes his new home. He really doesn’t have a choice. In the battle royale that was Joe Cocker vs Gregory Peck, Joe Cocker got the worst of it. I really don’t mind him being in the cabin. He’s a lot less trouble than the dogs and cats.

Leave a comment