6th Annual Flats and Handwashing Challenge – Day 1: Why Are You Taking The Challenge?

taking2016flats

Today is Day 1 of Dirty Diaper Laundry’s 6th Annual Flats and Handwashing Challenge. You can read more about the challenge here. This is my first year participating, so why am I doing it?

Because I almost had to… I lost my job and our only source of income 2 days after finding out I was pregnant with our first child. It sort of turned our world upside down, and put us in a pretty tight spot financially. Luckily, we had some awesome friends and family who helped us out while we got back on our feet. But being in that situation opened my eyes to a way of life I had never really seen before. Diaper need is a real thing, and cloth diapers help a lot of families with that.

To prove that I can… We lived off grid for a couple years pre-baby, and we plan to move back there eventually. We’re hoping to have things set up to run a little more smoothly this time around, but handwashing diapers (and clothes for that matter) would definitely be a good skill to have. Even in the city, it’s nice to know that in an emergency situation I can still provide clean diapers for my baby.

Because my friend Staci made me… Not really, but life is crazy right now and it would’ve been super easy to just blow it off. So having someone there to give me a little nudge helped keep me on track. (Thanks, Staci! 🙂 ) You can read about her experience with the challenge, as well as find some pretty awesome recipes here.

So there it is! My very first blog post. (That wasn’t bad at all. Why have I been putting it off for years??) A little late, but better late than never! Wish me luck, and be sure to check back all week to see how it goes!

~ Jen

One thought on “6th Annual Flats and Handwashing Challenge – Day 1: Why Are You Taking The Challenge?

Leave a Reply

