Ice Storm 2013

As promised, the ice has arrived.  We are alternately receiving sleet, snow, and freezing rain.  I believe that the majority of the precipitation is falling as freezing rain.  Luckily, the ground is still warm enough that ice is not accumulating – on the ground.  Most everything above the ground is covered in ice already.

The dogs had to go out.  They thought they were ready.  Apollo ran straight outside.  He’s never seen ice like this before, so I guess he shouldn’t have had any reason not to go out.  If you have nothing else to do, you can watch a video of him running down a snow covered hill here.  Everybody else bottlenecked at the door.  Toby finally went out of his own accord.  Boomer started turning in circles because he needed to go out but didn’t want to go out into the cold and rain.  Little Girl – who my mom named not realizing how ridiculous the name would sound when posted in a blog – ran back into her crate.

As I write this, the sleet has turned to rain.  I can see it hit the truck and splash up, instantly freezing into little bits of ice as it does.  Nice.  The temperature is still descending.

I fed the dogs under the house so that they wouldn’t be in the rain.  Then I had to go back inside and pull Little Girl – or LG as we sometimes call her – out of the crate.  I had to carry her outside.  It only took about 10 minutes for the dogs to take care of their needs.  They all came back in without incident.

Speaking of incidents, we had a casualty last night while making final preparations for the impending storm.  I was carrying in wood for the stove when I hooked one of my boots on a stick of firewood or a large rock.  I went down hard, landing on one knee.  Unfortunately, my knee landed on a large rock that was very unforgiving.  At least it was fairly flat.  I hit so hard that it jarred my whole body.  My hip and teeth hurt about as much as my knee.

I was on the ground for a minute or so.  Surely, I looked like Peter Griffin when he has an accident and then wiggles around sucking wind through his teeth and moaning.  Those scenes make me laugh because they intentionally drag them out much longer than necessary.  I was not laughing last night nor was I drawing out the scene any longer than necessary.  When I stood up, my knee didn’t hurt as much as I thought it would.

Our neighbor came down to check on us.  He told us to come on over if we get cold.  I told him that we would.

I decided, for some reason, to do more work today than normal.  I scavenged some pvc pipe for water line, did some dusting, started moving some shelves, and made it so the cats could sleep in the cabin and still have access to their enclosure on the front porch.  They will be much warmer and probably drier, but the rest of us will be a little colder.  I guess it’s better for us to be a little less comfortable if they can be much more comfortable.  They are all sitting in their new “inside enclosure” as I write.

So, here we all sit around the cozy fire.  The Ice Storm of 2013 may have thrown the first punch, but I bet we have more stamina.  In the end, I think we will come out of this ok.

Leave a Reply

